by Dr. Tina Marcantel


The seven chakras are the energy centers in your body. Each of these energy centers has a related spiritual truth—that is, the truth about who you are. In Ayurvedic medicine (traditional holistic Indian medicine), each of the chakras also corresponds to physical areas and organ systems in your body. If what you truly believe about yourself does not align with the sacred truth of a particular chakra, the energy flow in your body is blocked or dense and that can affect the related physical organs.

The information below is a very basic introduction to the chakras and how these seven main energy centers relate to the physical body.

1st Chakra—Root

*Location: base of spine (coccyx)

*Spiritual truth: “I am safe. I am supported. I belong.” This chakra is associated with connection to the whole of mankind, and with feeling rooted and grounded.

*Organ systems and physical area: spine, bones, legs

*Possible associated physical dysfunction: spinal conditions, leg problems, sciatica, osteoporosis

Note: The root chakra is also sometimes associated with the adrenal glands. For example, someone who has been the victim of abuse may not feel safe; therefore, they are always in “fight or flight” mode—causing the adrenal glands to work overtime, which may eventually lead to adrenal dysfunction.

2nd Chakra—Sacral

*Location: lower abdomen

*Spiritual truth: “I am a co-creator with the Divine. I experience abundance in my life.” This chakra also has to do with personal relationships (e.g., family, friends).

*Organ systems and physical area: reproductive organs (testes, ovaries, uterus), intestines, bladder

*Possible associated physical dysfunction: ob/gyn problems, fertility, chronic low back pain, sciatica

3rd Chakra—Solar Plexus

*Location: between the sternum and belly button

*Spiritual truth: “I am the worthiness of God.” When you know you are worthy, you put yourself as a priority; you trust yourself to take care of yourself; you have self-respect and self-confidence

*Organ systems and physical area: abdomen, stomach, adrenals, liver, gallbladder, kidney, pancreas, mid-spine

*Possible associated physical dysfunction: adrenal dysfunction (adrenal fatigue), pancreatitis, diabetes, gastric ulcers

Note: This chakra is also associated with eating disorders (e.g., anorexia, bulimia) and weight problems. When we don’t think well of ourselves we may put on a “wall of weight” to protect ourselves.

4th Chakra—Heart

*Location: center of chest

*Spiritual truth: “I am love. I am connected to the Source of love. I love myself and I am loved by others.”

*Organ systems and physical area: heart, lungs, circulatory system, breasts, upper back, shoulders

*Possible associated physical dysfunction: heart disease, lung problems, breast cancer, upper back and shoulder problems

5th Chakra—Throat

*Location: throat

*Spiritual truth: “I express my truth. I feel free to express myself.”

*Organ systems and physical area: throat, thyroid, neck vertebrae, mouth, teeth

*Possible associated physical dysfunction: thyroid problems, throat cancer, raspy voice, dental problems

Note: As with all the chakras, energetic imbalances with the throat chakra can manifest in extremes of behavior. For instance, someone who has been told to “keep quiet” all her life may be reluctant to ever express an opinion; on the other hand, that person may overcompensate by feeling the need to talk non-stop in an effort to be heard.

6th Chakra—Brow (3rd Eye)

*Location: between the eyebrows

*Spiritual truth: “I am divine wisdom and knowledge.” This chakra is associated with reasoning and intellectual abilities, intuition, imagination, the ability to learn from experience, and openness to the ideas of others.

*Organ systems and physical area: brain, eyes, ears, nose, pituitary gland, nervous system

*Possible associated physical dysfunction: visual and hearing impairments, brain tumors, stroke, neurological disturbances, seizures, learning disabilities

7th Chakra—Crown

*Location: top of head

*Spiritual truth: “I am connected to the Divine; I am part of the Divine.”

*Organ systems and physical area: skin, muscular and skeletal systems

*Possible associated physical dysfunction: depression, energetic disorders not related to physical disorders, extreme sensitivity to light, sounds, and other environmental factors


For more on this subject, see “What Is Energy Medicine and How Can It Help?”

and Guided Energy Sessions